Contemporary Dance for Adults

time

18:00pm to 19:15pm

date

Tue 19 Jan '16 | Tue 26 Jan '16 | Tue 02 Feb '16 | Tue 09 Feb '16 | Tue 16 Feb '16 | Tue 23 Feb '16 | Tue 01 Mar '16 | Tue 08 Mar '16 | Tue 15 Mar '16 | Tue 22 Mar '16 | Tue 29 Mar '16 | Tue 05 Apr '16 | Tue 12 Apr '16 | Tue 19 Apr '16 | Tue 26 Apr '16 | Tue 03 May '16 | Tue 10 May '16 | Tue 17 May '16 | Tue 24 May '16 | Tue 31 May '16 | Tue 07 Jun '16 | Tue 14 Jun '16 | Tue 21 Jun '16

Venue

Dance Limerick Studio

Price

€12.00 per class / €60.00 for a Dance Card (6 classes)

“I had forgotten how much fun it was to just dance until I joined in the Tuesday night classes” (Class Participant)

This class aims to introduce contemporary dance with an emphasis on building strength, alignment and flexibility. Participants will learn a mixture of methods and dance techniques in order to experience a wider range of exercises that improve posture and encourage expression.

Tuesdays from 19 January 2016 | 6pm-7.15pm |
Dance Limerick Studio
Fee: €12 per class
Teacher: Angie Smalis

Angie Smalis studied contemporary dance and choreography at the State School of Dance in her native Greece before joining the Viennese Folk Opera (Volks Oper Wien) in 2001. She relocated to Limerick in 2003 to work as a dance artist with Daghdha Dance Company. In addition to working as an independent contemporary dance artist, Angie is also Artistic Director of Limerick Youth Theatre, director of Patterns Dance Collective, a group of dance artists with intellectual disabilities currently in residency at the Hunt Museum, Limerick, and leader of Limerick Youth Dance, based at Dance Limerick. Angie has received funding for her own work from the Arts Council, Culture Ireland, the Mid-West Regional Authority and Limerick City and County Council.







Booking

Come along any Tuesday evening and join in!

Announcements

What Next - Closing Party | Music for Chameleons with Padraic E. Moore | Sat 10
WHAT NEXT - PROGRAMME 3 | SATURDAY 10 FEB
What Next - Programme 2 | Saturday 10 Feb
What Next - Programme 1 | Friday 9 Feb

Internet Explorer 7 and below is not supported. Please upgrade to Internet Explorer 8 or above, Firefox, Safari, Chrome or any other modern browser

Dance Limerick exists to support the development of professional dance artists within the Limerick region and beyond.

Through a combination of performance platforms, residency opportunities, master classes, talks and lectures, Dance Limerick will advocate for artistic dialogue and exchange. In collaboration with dance artists across a range of practices, Dance Limerick will promote the creation of new and innovative work and will devise programmes of access, engagement and participation for the wider public.

Based at the premises of the former Daghdha Dance Company, Dance Limerick houses offices and a fully equipped studio space along with a separate performance venue known as the Daghda Space

Further information about facilities and opportunities for professional dance artists available from Jenny Traynor at
jenny@dancelimerick.ie